Funny how the small tokens of shitty relationships past show up when ya just ain’t in the goddamn mood!
Another nameless, faceless hick town found me in dire need of solid slumber, too much whiskey keeps me up with the lousy locals all too often, even my boots feel rather pissy! Too many miles chewed up on another blustery autumnal wander, too many predictable tunes too keep me in the meloncholy tidbits, and somehow not enough hijinx to blot out the endless blur of memory.
I slung my mangled carpetbag onto the faded stained faux wood table next to the door, knocking the lamp over onto the bed, casting curious, unpredictable shadows in a way that suited me, I left it as such. After a brief restle with the chewed up zipper, I rummaged through tangles of panties and unmatched socks, searching for the familiar soft drape of a concert shirt from a few life times ago, my constant travel companion, only to have something hollow and hard click against my nicotine stained nails. Intrigued, I turned the bag upside down and gave it a quick, viscious shake, the contents vomiting forth, untill the bed was covered with a jigsaw puzzle of my current mode of existance. Rooting through the ruble, I came across the foreign object that sought my attention. I scooped it up in my palm and sat on the crappy, musty sad excuse for carpeting and let out a dull chuckle. The cheap, faded plastic poker chip must have been wedged into some far reaching corner of my bag for years beyond my booze soaked brains comprehension.
A pathetic reminder of years back when my lover was some throw back  DG, (that’s Degenerate Gambler to ya common folk) who schooled me on the back beat of the Bad Beat. No days of wine and roses there my friend, more like the high roller suite on the off nights and shitty comp food in the lousy light of 3am. He showed me all the angles of the the poker parlors, from AC to Vegas and in turn, I showed he didn’t know shit!
Just another fella full of swagger who couldn’t back up all the big talk, kinda always seems to run that way. They come on like a fucking frieght train, bold and best foot forward,and y’all know the same stupid story, bastards always reveal their true identity once they think they are in the door, yet the poor slobs always look so damn surprised when I slam that door in their face! Oh how the mighty fall!! And I, the sweet lil’ lovin’ thing just let their sorry asses hit terra firm, save yourself pal, ain’t my job no more! Little boys wearing the masks of men, christ, if it weren’t so pathetic it would be down right silly!
I unfolded my frame and tossed the chip over my head, it landed on the bed and bounced onto the floor where I left it as I hauled my road worn suede over my shoulder. Time to see what sort of trouble was brewing just outside my door now that sleep seemed yet again years from me. Nostalgic trips down jack ass lane just wasn’t my scene tonight!
No wonder I jump state lines like a school girl on a hopscotch grid!