A flash of random headlights tore white light through the thread bare sad excuse of curtains promising shade from that which lurked beyond the motel door. The kind of shit hole the disheveled massed huddled as they coped with the meloncholy tidbits of whatever wrenched their souls. You could feel the vague imprint of lurid, tawdry trysts and the dispair of those who saught sanctuary from habits and hard times in the realm of the heart.

Mostly, I pick whatever room commanded a clear view of the highway turning in, so that I was a hop, skip and a tumble from the nearest escape, as that was usually what was required. This time, feeling mixed up and muddled like the fruit at the bottom of a crappy geezer drink, I crept around the room, stalking the prey that seemed to always show up as, me. No need to terrorize the locals tonight, what with a fresh glass of cubes aching for the slow, sensual poor from the voluptious bottle, but who knows, it’s a womans perogative to change her mind.

I fumbled at the lopsided bed side table for a smoke and some soggy match book left over from the last poor fucker taken refuge before me. The mattress spring groaned and lurched beneath me as my boots kicked up a fuss on the musty spread, what a hinky scenario. I, the aimless drifter, forever with hopes to stay just beneath the radar of the brass, taking flight at night, never hanging long enough to look over my shoulder to see if the fella throwing heat at me across countless state lines could just be a finger tips graze from my undulating hips.

The night time had always been my time, yet, think I may just sit this one out, a gal can keep a full dance card for only just so long.
4:33 AM